> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://support.rosysalonsoftware.com/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://support.rosysalonsoftware.com/clients/deleting-a-client.md).

# Deleting a Client

It is not possible to delete a client due to the necessary retention of client histories and records. However, it is possible to de-clutter your client database by merging the clients you wish to delete into one "client" record named “DELETED CLIENTS”.

First, set up a "client" account named DELETED CLIENTS. **You’ll only need to do this once.** We suggest filling all fields possible, so that none of the "deleted" client information is transferred over.

{% hint style="warning" %}
We also highly suggest deleting any credit cards on file before or after merging the clients into this DELETED CLIENTS account! Any cards on file will be transferred over otherwise.
{% endhint %}

## Create your DELETED CLIENTS Account

{% stepper %}
{% step %}

### Proceed to **Manage** > **Clients** > **New Client**

![Create Deleted Clients Account](https://content.gitbook.com/content/Ba9JfhYBfqX7DMj8oNgV/blobs/m4ydenNDzBtj5FVmr5Sa/Create%20Deleted%20Clients%20Account.jpeg)
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Enter the recommended fields

![Sample fields to enter for deleted clients](https://content.gitbook.com/content/Ba9JfhYBfqX7DMj8oNgV/blobs/yo4U0toitLGtRWyqwCXQ/Sample%20fields%20to%20enter%20for%20deleted%20clients.jpeg)

*Remember to un-check all **Communications** boxes.*

{% hint style="info" %}
Any client's service history, retail history, future appointments *(if any)*, gift cards, notes, rewards points, formulas, and/or image/file uploads will be transferred into the DELETED CLIENTS account upon merging.
{% endhint %}
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Select **Create Client**

{% endstep %}
{% endstepper %}

## Merge Clients into this New Account

{% stepper %}
{% step %}

### Proceed to **Manage** > **Clients**

{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Search for "DELETED CLIENTS"

Use the Search by Name or Phone field.
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Select **Merge with Another Client**

Click **Merge with Another Client** at the bottom of the profile.

![Merge with Another Client button](https://content.gitbook.com/content/Ba9JfhYBfqX7DMj8oNgV/blobs/DFOkRdI9vvWoZ08Mfexw/Merge%20with%20Another%20Client%20button.jpeg)
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Search for and select the client

In the Merge Window that has popped up, search for and select the name of the client you'd like to get rid of.
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Merge the client

The DELETED CLIENTS account should be on the right side of the window. Click **Merge**.

![Merge clients button](https://content.gitbook.com/content/Ba9JfhYBfqX7DMj8oNgV/blobs/R2JN2ybEm2EX2RuLdziy/Merge%20clients%20button.jpeg)

If for whatever reason the DELETED CLIENTS account is on the left side of the window, click **Swap** before clicking **Merge**.

![Swap button](https://content.gitbook.com/content/Ba9JfhYBfqX7DMj8oNgV/blobs/u18j4q5x92aHxP768mhB/Swap%20button.jpeg)
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Repeat as necessary

Remember, **you cannot undo a merge.** If you think that you may see this client again in the future or wish to retain their history associated with their name, you can opt to archive the client instead. For instructions on Archiving Clients,
{% endstep %}
{% endstepper %}

[Similar process found when merging general duplicate Clients](/clients/merging-duplicate-clients.md)
